This award recognizes a graduate student who holds truly outstanding promise as a future professor or teacher. The student selected will epitomize a broad range of talents. Evidence of excellence may include scholarship, teaching, student mentoring, web site development, or any other relevant areas of contribution as defined by the nominator.


  • 2014: Patrick Button (Economics)
  • 2013: Elizabeth Sowers (Sociology)
  • 2012: Benjamin Mis
  • 2011: Wilfred T. Wan (Political Science)
  • 2010: Scott Byrd (Sociology)
  • 2009: Robin L. Bowman
  • 2008: Kathy H. Rim
  • 2007: Carla Valenzuela

connect with us


© UC Irvine School of Social Sciences - 3151 Social Sciences Plaza, Irvine, CA 92697-5100 - 949.824.2766